Puget Sound Energy President and CEO elected AGA chair for 2018

October 6, 2017. The American Gas Association (AGA) has announced that Kimberly J. Harris has been elected to serve as Chair of its Board of Directors for 2018. Harris is the President and CEO of Puget Sound Energy which serves more than 1.5 million customers across 10 counties in Washington state.

   “It is an incredible honor to lead this organization at a time when natural gas is shaping our nation’s future and changing the way we think about environmental protection, economic prosperity and national security,” Harris said. “We have an opportunity, as companies that deliver essential energy to our customers and our communities, to provide solutions and improve lives. I look forward to leading that conversation.”

   Kimberly Harris was named president of Puget Sound Energy, Washington state’s largest utility, in 2010 and chief executive in 2011. Prior to her current role, Harris was chief resources officer at the company. She practiced law with Perkins Coie before joining PSE in 1999.

   Harris serves on the board of directors of the Washington Roundtable. She was the 2016-2017 campaign chair for the United Way of King County. In October 2014, she joined the U.S. Bancorp Board of Directors. Harris has a bachelor's degree from San Diego State University and a juris doctor degree from Arizona State University.

   “2018 is an exciting year for the American Gas Association as we celebrate our 100-year anniversary and host the World Gas Conference in Washington, DC in June. Kimberly is the perfect leader to guide us into our next century of advocacy on behalf of natural gas utilities,” said Dave McCurdy, president and CEO of AGA.

   AGA’s other board officers for 2018 will include: First Vice Chair Joseph Hamrock, President & CEO of NiSource Inc. based in Columbus, OH and Second Vice Chair Scott M. Prochazka, President & CEO of CenterPoint Energy based in Houston, TX. Pierce H. Norton, II, President & CEO, ONE Gas, Inc. based in Tulsa, OK who has served as Chair for 2017 will become Immediate Past Chair when Harris’ term begins on January 1, 2018.